HORSE HEAVEN

Its so easy to take everything for granted. I've lived in some beautiful places and haven't appreciated where I have lived until I've left! The Scottish Highlands, the Yorkshire Dales,the Ribble Valley and more recently Dublin. We were in a place called Castleknock which is very close to the Phoenix Park where the Pope dropped by in the 80's.

http://www.dublintourist.com/details/the_phoenix_park.shtml

 Well, we have since moved to Co.Kildare which is famous for its breathtaking countryside and population of Racecourses and Stud Farms.  As a child of 7 or 8, I wanted a pony (didn't we all!) Now, I don't think we will ever own  ponies, but at least we are able to do the next best thing here. I was determined to make full use of the nearby horse-riding stables. So I booked the girls in for lessons which they enjoyed immensley, then the Summer Pony camp which was great. They has a little award ceremony at the end where all the children were given rosettes. I can still see their beaming smiles!

 They will do the same this Summer and are looking forward to it. I dont want the girls to look back in years to come and say "If only…..we had learned to ride a horse when we lived in Kildare.

 I look back and think I could have hiked in the Highlands, rambled in the Dales, paraglided in the Pennines, rock-climbed in the Ribble Valley, picknicked in the Park………….

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    earthpal Says:

    Great post. Anna has been asking for pony-riding lessons but her dance costs so much. Maybe I will take her for a one-off activity day at a riding school if they do such a thing.

    I have many good memories of weekends staying at a gorgeous old mansion hotel with beautiful surrounding Yorkshire countryside. The owners were a bit iffy but the place was great.

    Happy days.

  2. 2
    misslionheart Says:

    http://www.accommodationbritain.co.uk/places/28045.html

    This is where I used to go!

  3. 3
    earthpal Says:

    You do realise which place I was referring to don’t you? Food fights ring any bells?

  4. 4
    misslionheart Says:

    Of course! Gateaux flying across the dining room!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

