I wandered lonely as a cloud

 spring.jpg

I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills

When all at once I saw a crowd

A host of golden daffodils

Beside the lake, beneath the trees

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze

Continuous as the stars that shine

And twinkle on the milky way

They stretch in never-ending line

Along the margin of the bay

Ten thousand saw I at a glance

Tossing their heads in sprightly dance

The waves beside them danced: but they

Out-did the sparkling wave in glee

A poet could not but be gay

In such a jocund company

I gazed and gazed but little thought

What wealth the show to me had brought

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude

And then my heart with pleasure fills

by William Wordsworth (1770-1850)

7 Comments »

  1. 1

    One of my favorites.

  2. 2
    misslionheart Says:

    I had to learn the best part of that for an elocution exam when I was eight! I think all the family knew it at one stage!

  3. 3

    haven’t heard the word “elocution” in a bit. My Mother (from England) used to talk about elocution class. Americans don’t use the word much, not that we don’t know what it means.

  4. 4
    Carol Says:

    I like the poem and the picture of the flower along with it.

  5. 5
    Babybull40 Says:

    very nice poem… got anymore? Nice pic too…my mother is from England and probably knows it..

  6. 6
    misslionheart Says:

    oooh, let me think. ‘Half way up the stairs’, that was another I had to learn. It became more popular when Kermits nephew released it as a single in the 70’s! *lol*

  7. 7
    linguist Says:

    I’ve been writing an essay of this poem for 8 hours now. It doesn’t sound as good as yesterday…


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

