AFFECTION

                       smileyhug.gif

 Every morning, without fail, HWSBO kisses me before he leaves the house. I insist on this!

 We are an affectionate family, I think that’s because it’s the way I was brought up. Its sad to see children being left at the school gates without so much as a smile, let alone a kiss. Although my eldest just dies if anyone sees me kiss her at the gates! Its so uncool. But I feel showing as much affection as possible is very important to our children. It reassures them that they are loved, cared for and secure. As far back as I can remember, I was kissed and cuddled by my Mum, and in his later years, my Dad. He wasn’t the most affectionate father, but he made up for it in other ways. He had a great sense of humour and was a real breadwinner. He worked hard and played hard.

 I’m one of eight children and we have got together each Summer since my Mum died. We all kiss and hug when we meet, as do our children with their cousins. Its such a great feeling…

 I’m sad for anyone who has never experienced this strength of affection from their families. They’ll never know how warm it feels. But, then again, we’re not all from the same mould.

 (…as I write this (from my bed) a tune has just come on the radio which reminds me so much of my childhood. ‘A Summer Place’ Aaaahhhh! Being aged 6 or 7 and travelling over to my Uncles farm with Mum and Dad and my three younger brothers in the back of a gold Ford Zephyr. My Uncle, Dads brother, had a shed full of hundreds of little chicks. Like a yellow fluffy carpet. It was odd that the next time we visited, the shed was empty. 

He also had a couple of newborn lambs one weekend which we bottle-fed. Again, on the next visit, they too had vanished with no explanation. But, as if by magic, they all reappeared the following year.)

 I digress….I remember when I would go to a friends house to play, that her parents never showed her any affection, and she never showed them any, either. I noticed this from being 11 until my early 20’s when I kind of lost touch. Never a kiss or a cuddle with her Mum and Dad. I remember thinking it was either very strange, or just not normal. I believe she’s still the same and is looks almost ‘awkward’ in the way she displays her affection with her son. I can’t comment myself because as I say, I lost touch. 

 On the other hand I have another friend who pours affection on her children and is always cuddling them. I know she had lots from her parents, too.

  So, it must be something inbred in us. Passed on from our parents. Thank God I don’t struggle to hug my children. I hope they pass it onto theirs too.

                            smiley-hug.gif

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    MO Says:

    you can never hug your family enough!!!! xxx

  2. 2
    earthpal Says:

    My children are very affectionate. My little boy loves kissing me. He’s so cuddly and he has gorgeous kissy-lips. He’s so soft. My little girl is affectionate too but she’s reaching that self-conscious now.

    Lovely post.xxx

  3. 3
    misslionheart Says:

    Thanks girls. I do hug the children whenever I’m not here with you two, honest!

  4. 4
    Carol Says:

    I think showing affection is important in a family too. It’s a way of “tying strings” with our children. We usually pray together as a family every night, and when we’re done, it’s time for a hug and kiss good night. I really enjoyed reading this post.

    Carol

  5. 5
    helenl Says:

    I was brought up hugging and continue to hug my grown sons from time to time. Our younger son, who has his own apartment, always hugs me before he leaves.

  6. 6
    Tena Says:

    Great post! I agree with all; lots of physical affection is very, very important in a family. We are that kind, too. 🙂


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

