Things don’t always go according to plan

And my Menu Planner Monday was one of them! Great idea in theory…

  But, I still do feel that the catering side is much improved, the food bill was about 20 euro less than normal, because all the fresh ingredients used this week were already in the fridge and nothing was thrown in the bin. So, result!

 Tonight I’m cooking Pea & Ham Broth. A recipe my husband passed onto me, although, I added carrots. Threw them in while he wasn’t looking! Yesterday, I bought a box of marrowfat peas and soaked them overnight. (I remember my Mum doing this every now and again)

 

There is one of those salt tablets in there!

   I fried the onion and garlic in a little oil, added the peas and ham and just covered it all with vegetable stock. Boiled it up and simmered for an hour……

                             Then I added the carrots and it’s still simmering…..pea-ham-broth-004.jpg

Whilst waiting for the broth to thicken, I took a look in my cupboards an saw what I really should Tackle on Tuesday.

 

The shame…

          ……..and the floor needs a good clean, too.

 I meanwhile have a pic of my little boy asleep on the kitchen table! Wordless Wednesday there, then!

 Broth ready.

 I ate this, added more salt to the pan and had another!

11 Comments »

  1. 1
    earthpal Says:

    That would look lovely without the ham. 😀

    Nice with lot’s of crusty bread and real butter. Yummy!

  2. 2
    misslionheart Says:

    He he! Mmm.. crusty bread. Cracks me up the way people say ‘real butter’. Do you say ‘real bread’ ‘real coffee’ ‘real cornflakes?’

  3. […] front page ← Things don’t always go according to plan […]

  4. 4
    earthpal Says:

    I think it might be “best butter” that we say actually, not real butter.

    I said REAL butter because there are so many “Utterly Butterly’s” … “You’d Butter Believe it’s” … ” I Can’t Believe it’s Not butter’s” …”Butterlicious”…..

    I’m staaarving!

  5. 5
    Babybull40 Says:

    That looks really yummy misslionheart.. Sorry I haven’t around much.. since Hubs is home I don’t have the main puter.. and TCP has been sick.. So needless tosay I’ve been busy..

  6. 6
    misslionheart Says:

    It’s ok. We’ll catch up soon!

  7. it looks good. I love pea soup. But we always blend it to make it thick.

  8. 8
    misslionheart Says:

    It looked even better the next day. It got thicker overnight and we finished it for lunch! A happy pea! > :mrgreen:

  9. 9

    love the site – and as we call it here split pea soup (however I see yours aren’t dried like they do it here – is one of my absolutely favorite soups’ – its pure comfort food – great page

  10. 10
    Emiline Says:

    Interesting recipe! I would love to try it. Maybe some bread, too. And some REAL butter.

  11. 11
    Alf Says:

    Only thing missing is the dumplings ……..


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

