Reduce~Re-use~Recycle

It’s always good to get the children involved with the recycling. Today we are going to the bottle bank, tomorrow we are going to the recycling centre which is two mins from our house. I intend to make this a regular ‘outing’ this year. (Spoilt brats, aren’t they!)

   Although we do have a  recycling bin which we pay for, it’s only collected once a fortnight, by which time I can hardly close it.  So, off to the recycling centre we go! The children help by having their own items to sort out into the right areas. Tetra packs, plastic bottles, cardboard and paper….

Now go here to see more Smart Habit Saturdays…

little flowers

11 Comments »

  1. 1
    babybull40 Says:

    I recycle.. more than I use to.. we don’t have to pay for our bins.. its paid for by the city and they recently gave all residents new bins for other waste like garden stuff and food waste..I don’t use that very much..

  2. 2
    misslionheart Says:

    I recycle more than ever! I didn’t recycle anything in England, apart from glass bottle and jars.

  3. 3
    earthpal Says:

    We have a very good recycling collection service. Bins are provided free of charge (well I say free but I suppose we already pay for them out of our community charge) and they are collected weekly. The only bin that is collected fortnightly is the one containing non-recyclables.

    Well done to you and your kids for playing your part.

  4. 4

    What a great habit to get into! Congrats on that and good luck making it stick!!! Have a great rest of the weekend!

  5. 5

    Good luck on the recycling habit. What a good thing to help the kids get into!

  6. 6
    Michelle Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day and your comment about my daughter!

    I think it’s great you’re getting your kids involved in recycling; gotta start early! We recycle here on base too and it’s amazing how fast our bin fills up!

  7. 7
    misslionheart Says:

    Love your blog!

  8. 8

    Great job momma! I dream of a day when I can go to the grocery store and the moms who choose paper or plastic are the weird ones not us with the canvas bags from home!!!

  9. 9
    misslionheart Says:

    I have to pay for plastic carrier bags. The government put on a 15c levy on plastic bags here in Ireland to encourage shoppers not to throw them away, but to bring them back the next week. So, most people do buy the canvas bags which are one euro, but obviously reuseable!

  10. What a great habit! We have started recycling even though our city doesn’t provide any kind of service. I am amazed at how little trash we have after everything else has gone into the recycling bin!

    Now everyone is making me feel guilty for using plastic at the grocery store but I recycle the bags myself by using them for garbage bags. Does that count?

    See you on Saturday!

  11. 11
    misslionheart Says:

    Yes! 😆


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

