Menu Planner Monday

       

Sunday

Roast beef, mashed carrot & swede, roasted parsnips, roast potatoes and gravy

Monday

Macaroni cheese for the children, Chicken Kiev, baked potatoes and peas for us

Tuesday

Fry-up for all.

Wednesday

Mum’s Steak Canadienne teacakes (pics to follow)

Slightly based on this recipe!

Thursday

Leftovers (I’m cleaning the fridge out!)

Friday

Beef Casserole

Saturday

Making our own pizzas

   I’ve never made macaroni cheese before (recipes welcome) so that will be a little challenge! The fry-up is just  a breakfast really. I have all the ingredients waiting to be used up. Mum’s Steak Canadienne teacakes!  Thin slices of beef grilled with onions on a toasted teacake (bread roll). I’m from a part of Lancashire, England where a bread roll is called a teacake.

Earthpal will be laughing at this!

Check out more tasty ideas at Lauras blog

16 Comments »

  1. 1
    Kim Says:

    I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but here’s one: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Restaurant-Style-Mac-and-Cheese/Detail.aspx
    You can go to allrecipes.com and search for one that sounds good to you. I use the boxed stuff, my kids don’t like it from scratch!

    Have a good week.

    ~ This is the recipe I used (without the cream) The children loved it, and the little boy I mind couldn’t get enough of it!
    Thanks

  2. I make mac & cheese in the slow cooker,

    Boil water, cook the macaroni.

    Spray the slow cooker with pam.

    stir a stick of butter in to the noodles – it will melt pretty quickly, but i usually cut it in sections first.

    Then I add cheese.. whatever is leftover usually. 🙂 Shredded cheese from taco night, a little extra shredded mozarella from making lasagna, sliced cheese cut in strips.. whatever. But then to give it kick, I add some of the spicy nacho cheese we buy in the gallon cans at sam’s club. velveeta works well too – but we really liked the canned nacho cheese.

    cook on low in the slow cooker. 🙂

    Mmmm… this sounds good too! When you say noodles, do you mean pasta?

  3. 3

    It’s just after 9am here and my tummy is rumbling!
    Thanks

  4. 4
    Marcia Says:

    Ooh, I make macaroni cheese like this:
    Boil macaroni.
    Make white sauce (margerine, some flour, milk…let it thicken)
    Then I add cheese and stir the macaroni in

    If I feel adventurous, I’ll add mushrooms and onions to the mix too.

    Sprinkle cheese on top and bake in oven until melted.

    Yum!

    Thank you for visiting me, by the way.

    We have 2 sets of very good friends just outside London!

    ~I’m in Ireland now. whereabouts outside London are they?

  5. 5
    Jodi Says:

    Sounds yummy.. I cheat with mac-n-cheese, and just use the box kind (Kraft mac-n-cheese) LOL. I should try to make my own one of these days!

    Have a great Monday!

  6. i too use the Kraft “blue box” for Mac ‘n Cheese! :o)

    it sounds like a yummy week! i’ll be back to see the teacake pics!

    thanks for stopping by!

  7. 7
    annie Says:

    Love your menu.
    Can’t go wrong with just your choice of pasta with good cheese and cream salt & pepper stirred to melt. You can grate more cheese over it and bake it too. (Or use the box 🙂

  8. 8
    helenl Says:

    Hi Misslionheart, What’s the music you’re playing today? Really nice.

  9. 9

    ‘Aran Boat Song’ by Cantiga. I have to turn off the sound or I’ll fall asleep! It’s on my sidebar—>

  10. 10
    thismom Says:

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Your menu looks great this week. I make mac and cheese in the crockpot, and I do have a recipe on my blog if you would like to check it out.
    http://thismom.wordpress.com/2007/01/18/slow-cooking-thursday/

    Have a great Monday!

  11. 11
    Barb Says:

    You mean cheesesteaks didn’t start out in Philly??

    Looks like a delicious menu. I think my crew would like your “teacakes.”

  12. 12
    Mrs. C Says:

    misslionheart,
    If you look at the header on “Slow Cooking Thursday” you will see a picture of a crock pot. Crock Pot is actually a trademarked name, so some people call them slow cookers. You could also search for “crock pot” under google images.
    HTH!

    ~I’m gonna get me one!

  13. 13
    thepocket Says:

    I don’t know how you can be so organised with your menus. There is only two of us here to cook for and I have the best intentions of planning meals but they usually fall through. I find that we eat the same meals all the time.

  14. 14
    Marcia Says:

    Hi

    I can’t find an email for you…

    Yes, I did the menu planner myself. I sell this particular one as part of a whole Household Organising File so I can’t email this to you (you know???) but there is a free one on my site
    http://takechargesolutions.org and then click on free stuff.

    Enjoy!

  15. 15

    Can’t print it 😦

  16. 16

    Oh, your menu sounds so delicious! I’ve never made homemade mac n cheese either. I do want to try though. Have a great week! (I’m a day late…sorry!) 🙂


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

