Smart Habits Saturday (update)

smart-712004.jpg

  I’m going to give myself a fairly simple task to work on this week. Last weeks SHS was a biggie for me, I’m still suffering! (award of will be given today for the tidiest bedroom, as promised)  

 So, today, myself and the children will be ‘litter-picking’ the front of the house and in the garden each week after the winner of tidiest bedroom is announced. All sounds so strict and official, but I’m sure we’ll enjoy it!

Two of my helpers. Eldest and youngest.

Update here~ Number 2 won the tidy bedroom award. The other girls were so cross! I took them all out for caramel slices and apple juice in our favourite cafe anyway, to cheer them up. They had made the effort to keep their rooms tidy, after all.

 Well, the weather was so nice today, that after picking up a few bits of litter, ie. a cat food tin across the road which has been there all week and bugging me, cigarette butts (gggrrrr…Hubby!) sweet wrappers, scraps of paper and all the usual things the wind brings down to us, I spent a couple of hours in the garden. I feel so pleased that I’ve been able to make a start on it. The children played games on the road with their friends and looked after No.4 (two year old boy) while I got stuck in, digging, raking, sweeping, sweating…

Before…

After…

 Half done.It’s going dark now, and it’s only 5.30pm. But, I thinned out the dead plants and now it looks so bare that a trip to the garden centre is in order!  YES!!!

For more Smart Habit ideas, please visit Laras site….

8 Comments »

  1. 1

    Sounds great! Keep up the good work…I know you will!:) Have a great weekend!

  2. 2

    Thought I was going to have an easy day! Enjoyed it anyway!

  3. 3

    You are doing a wonderful job! Glad your tidy room contest went well.

    One of these days we will have a garden 🙂 !

  4. 4

    I don’t think I’ll keep it up! The girls are so competitive and all sore losers! Next week, I hope their rooms are just as tidy, so I can just put them in the car and treat them anyway!

  5. I tried to post this earlier and it didn’t work. I’m happy that they all got a reward! I have another idea for you that might work. I’ll post about it as soon as I can so you can see if you like it.

    “Uh oh, it sounds like you’ve had a painful week. Cleaning with kids always is! I hope you give each of them an award for all their hard work. They deserve it.

    I had a rough week with my kids too. We need to have another little chore pep talk today I think. ”

    Have a great week!

  6. 6
    earthpal Says:

    Well done you busy bee.

    My kids are competitive too. Doesn’t it drive you mad sometimes! They compete with each other all the time or any little thing!

  7. 7
    Andrea Says:

    The garden looks great! Good job.

  8. 8
    Tirzah Says:

    That looks great!! That’s a great idea to get your family involved in your habits…they are the ones to make a lot of the messes, I’m sure!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

