Time for a cuppa?

                      

  Well most of the ironing is done, passports are in a safe place and everything is sorted for our trip to Cuba. Before we go I will by lots of little gifts for the children to open each day. They are being very brave about the whole thing and the eldest has eventually come round to the idea and is allowing us to go now, saying we deserve it! Do you hear the Cuban music on my blog?

  I’ve just noticed it’s March 1st! Doesn’t seem too long ago that the Christmas tree went up into the attic after spending a week on the landing. I can’t wait to see the first buds forming on my clematis on the front wall. Last year, it was gorgeous in full bloom with soft pink flowers. It was my Mum’s and she bought it just before she became poorly. It sat on her back doorstep waiting to be trained onto a trellis. The trellis was never put against the wall, so when Mum died I took it home and looked after it. When we moved here to Ireland, I planted it in the front garden and trained it along the sidewall against my house. It spread like wild-fire. Must like the Irish soil!

  My two year old boy (let’s call him ‘Spud’ it’s quicker) has had a sore bottom the last few days, which is a bummer (no pun intended) as that’s the last thing I need to be worrying about. He runs to me when he needs a poo. I’m hoping the cream I bought from the chemist clears it up very soon…

  hardshoes11.gifThe girls have an Irish Dancing competition tomorrow night. The little one, who now prefers to be called Danielle, is very excited and will be wearing the costume I bought on e-Bay. I also bought a wig! Saves the ‘curlers-in-the-hair-the-night-before-scenario’ So, hopefully, a few medals will be tossed into my handbag for safe-keeping.

  I could have used a home help this week. It’s been hectic. As you may have read, on top of all my tackles, I’m on a diet. The image of me in a swimsuit was not for the weak. But, at my weigh-in, I’d lost 2lbs and feel much better for it, although last night I had three glasses of wine and woke with a headache. I’m only allowed 7 units a week! The menu which was designed by Tesco diets is not bad at all, the preparation though is time consuming. The weighing especially. I bought a digital kitchen scales, so that I didn’t need to guess the weight of a few unsalted nuts or a couple of slices of bread. Ooo, my head hurts! I wish I could type without looking at the keyboard!

 Do any of you have any tips on how to drink eight glasses of water a day? I don’t think I’ve drunk that much in the past year! The tap water is a no-no at the moment, so I bought a 5ltr bottle of Kerry Spring yesterday. I’ve only had two glasses so far. I seem to struggle with the cold, tasteless aspect!

  *BREAKING NEWS!*…….

 Spud has just done a poo without a hug!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    babybull40 Says:

    So you are ready for your trip.. That’s nice that kids get to open a special gift each day.. As they get older they will be telling you to go. That’s usually a sign they want to PARTY!!!!!!!.. lol.. I’m glad “SPUD” is feeling better.. try cornstarch on his bottom.. it keeps away the moisture and it heals so much quicker.. Mr. Giggles(TCP) has a sore bottom too and that is what I always use now..

  2. 2
    ditybug Says:

    On the water drinking issue: I keep the 24 ounce (we are told to drink 8 – 8 ounce glasses a day) bottled water in the fridge where it’s easily accessible. When I’m headed out the door or to the back of the house, I can grab a bottle to take with me. I was told to take a couple of drinks every 15 minutes and have found that works well. I refill it three more times during the day so I have my 8 glasses. If it’s just too bland for you, try adding just a little lemon juice. It gives it just enough flavor! Great job so far and keep it up.

  3. 3

    HI Misslionheart, I glad u stopped by. Usually India grocery stores carry them , if you have near by , or else you can try at international/ asian isle in American stores. You have a wonderful blog.

  4. 4
    earthpal Says:

    Really enjoyed this post Missy!!

    Know just what you mean about the water. I do like water but the recommended eight pints is an impossiblity!!

    Enjoy Cuba. Hugs to the children. Will hopefully catch you on msn later.

    xxx

  5. 5
    earthpal Says:

    That Cuban music on your blog startles me every time I visit here! I’m never ready for it.

    I can just imagine you and E doing the salsa together to it. La la la…..

  6. 6
    hockamama Says:

    misslionheart, here in the states, we have crystal lite, I’m assuming y’all have it, or something similar. they make little individual flavoring packets that you can pour into your water, making it much more enjoyable to drink. it’s really alot like kool-aid, which I reckon you could use in place. although, I guess I’m ignorant of the whole availability issue.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

