Friday Ramble

It’s Friday 13th! Are you superstitious? I’m not.

  At last! After 18 months of trying to set up a Residents Association, I’m finally getting somewhere. Ever tried to do it yourself? I tell ye, it’s a nightmare and very frustrating to get a couple of people interested in ‘acting on issues which need to be addressed’… sound important, don’t I?

 Well, the fact is, when the builder left the estate (i.e. after he was paid for each house!) he didn’t finish a couple of things. There is no lighting to the entrance of the estate, the grounds aren’t being maintained and there is no nameplate to tell people what the estate is called.

 Last night, I called a meeting and eleven people showed! Yay! We discussed the particulars and more.. I delegated a job for each resident and arranged a follow-up meeting.

      Result!

 

~I’m loving the new song by Amy Winehouse ‘Valerie’. I much prefer her version than The Zutons. I also think Take That’s ‘Shine’ is great.

 My 5yr old is beside me writing the alphabet. When she doesn’t know the next letter, she sings Barney’s Alphabet Song! It’s taken her about 15 mins to get to ‘m’…

 It’s another sunny, warm day here in Ireland, I’ll do an hour of ironing then take the children out for the afternoon. I got a copy of the ‘Liffeyside walks in Kilcullen’, may check it out.

 In an effort to put a smile on my 11yr old’s face, I wrote her a little note and left it in the fridge

Where she’d find it!

9 Comments »

  1. 1
    babybull40 Says:

    Here in Canada.. well ontario at least.. Every friday the 13th involves all persons that ride a Harley or a Yamaha.. or whatever..Motorcycle go to a small town south of us to Port Dover.. right on Lake Erie.. it’s a touristy trap type place.. but by far have the best fish and chips…the entire town is covered with motorcycle enthusiasts.. it’s pretty cool to see… I hope that all these residents are able to fulfill their assigned deeds.. it only improves the area when all pitch in.. Have a fabulous Friday…

  2. 2
    babybull40 Says:

    cute note..Did she find it?

  3. 3

    She found it straight away! 😆

  4. 4
    earthpal Says:

    I much prefer The Zutons version. Her voice really irritates me in that video.

    Well done on the Resident’s thing. We still haven’t had our roads adopted yet. Bloody builders..they do a shoddy effing job, take the money and then leg it out.

    I miss your kids.
    xxx

  5. 5
    earthpal Says:

    I’m not superstitious either. My friend at work hates Friday the 13th…so much so that she takes the day off if she can and stays indoors. I try to tell her that she is letting her superstition run her life. Very sad.

  6. 6

    Isn’t that just sad? What do you mean by having your roads adopted? Remember, I’m ignorant to all this talk!

    I miss your kids more!
    xx

  7. 7

    Hi misslionheart ~ I lost you for a while, but thanks for popping over to my place this last week…good to ‘see’ you again 😀 I’ve blogrolled you 🙂

  8. 8
    mothemum Says:

    When number three used tó have packed lunches i used to write messages on his banana!!!!

  9. 9
    mothemum Says:

    And for a reason i can’t remember, i leave a packet of pastachio nuts under number two’s quilt now and again.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

