Monster!

I’m killing two bird’s with one stone here, killing being the operative word! Last night, I watched one of the best films ever. Monster. I was absolutely gobsmacked by Charlize Theron’s performance. I’ve read the book based on the story of Aileen Wuornos and was looking forward to seeing the film.

A dark tale based on the true story of Aileen Wuornos, one of America’s first female serial killers. Wuornos had a difficult and cruel childhood plagued by abuse and drug use in Michigan. She became a prostitute by the age of thirteen, the same year she became pregnant. She eventually moved to Florida where she began earning a living as a highway prostitute–servicing the desires of semi-truck drivers. The tale focuses on the nine month period between 1989 and 1990, during which Wuornos had a lesbian relationship with a woman named Selby. And during that very same time, she also began murdering her clientele in order to get money without using sex. This turned the tables on a rather common phenomena of female highway prostitutes being the victims of serial killers–instead Wuornos, herself, carried out the deeds of a cold-blooded killer.

So the second bird? It’s me…

Trying to relax in my favourite spot! Hubby thought it was all so funny. The fact is, the film didn’t finish till 1.30am and I was petrified when I went to bed!

~More scary monsters here

15 Comments »

  1. 1

    Monster was such a good movie – even if disturbing. I too had a hard time going to sleep after watching it.

    I’m all for killing two birds with one stone. Rock on.;)

  2. 2

    That was a great movie – and I was amazed at how ugly they made Charlize. My husband actually lived in Florida at that time, and had been at one of the bars she frequented. Glad she wasn’t his type!

  3. 3
    Joy T. Says:

    I’ve never seen the movie but I heard it was pretty disturbing. I saw an interview with Aileen Wuornos and she was some mixed up lady. I almost felt sorry for her and the abuse she went through. You can’t help but wonder what kind of a person she would have turned out like had all those crazies not been in her life as a child.

  4. 4

    That sounds like me when I watch scary movies. I need to leave the lights on afterwards…

  5. 5
    Babybull40 Says:

    Ahhhh That’s kinda cute.. hiding under the blanket…

  6. 6
    Pamela Says:

    bwwaaa ha ha ha ha ha…. you remind me of my kids when they watched something scary

    when I see a movie star look so horrible I think of an old saying that a former co-worker of mine repeated often: Beauty is only skin deep, but ugly goes all the way to the bone~!

  7. 7

    Ha! You’re braver than me. I don’t watch scary movies at all.

  8. 8

    I haven’t seen the movie and from the look on your face, I won’t. Scary movies scare me…go figure. Love the colors in your photos and the wooden floor. This was too clever.

  9. 9
    mjd Says:

    I enjoyed your post, but I would not enjoy the movie. Then again, I did not actually enjoy Blood Diamond, but I thought that it was a great movie. You do have a great blanket to use for security.

  10. 10
    Karmyn R Says:

    You may have been in a relaxing spot – but scary movies always leave me uptight!

  11. 11
    Kaytabug Says:

    I have always wanted to watch that movie. I still will. I enjoyed your photos… too cute!

  12. 12

    Okay, I’m adding that movie to our Netflix list. Thanks for the heads up! 🙂

    By the way, I wanted to remind you that I’m launching my Pay It Forward book exchange!

    I’m kicking it off with a book giveaway of “Lucky” by Alice Sebold, so please stop by and enter to win! You have until end of day on Friday, 13 July, to enter. 🙂

  13. 13
    beccy Says:

    I haven’t seen it and being a bit of a wus I’m not sure I want to!

  14. 14
    Debbie Says:

    I love scary movies, so I will have to check this one out. I too hide under cover when watching. Love your pics and post. Very creative! 🙂

  15. 15
    Nicole Says:

    hahahhaha I love your blog too! You are so funny!!! 🙂


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

