I need sunshine!

  After being assured we were to have the best Summer on record for many years, it turns out we are having the worst. Eight weeks of Summer holidays in a wet country with four children is not easy.  To top it off, all ‘last minute bargain holidays’ have gone and hubby has next week off! It’s not fair.

 I suppose we could have a week in Cork, we have free accommodation there but not guaranteed good weather. Change is a good as  a rest.

 I have a Residents Meeting this evening and need to organise for the  gardai to give a chat about the Neighbourhood Watch Scheme. There’s very little crime in our town, the worst offence I’ve seen is littering! But it’s good for us to know how to prevent crime and to work together to ensure a safe environment for our children.

 We’ll also be organising a Summer family day for the last Saturday in August. This is the first party on the estate. Hubs is bringing a large barbeque from work to feed a possible 60/70 people. A bouncy castle will be booked and one of the parents is organising party games for the children. If you’ve ever had a party on your street, please give me a few pointers. I’d appreciate a few more ideas!

9 Comments »

  1. 1
    Akelamalu Says:

    Are you sure all the holiday bargains have gone – get down to the travel agents you’ll be surprised with what they can come up with.

    We had a weekend in Cork a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. As you say a change is as good as a rest.

  2. 2

    It’s beautiful, isn’t it. We were there two years ago for my neice’s Holy Communion. We made a little holiday of it!

  3. 3
    mcewen Says:

    I do so sympathise [and yes I am ignoring your dancing avatar – if I had the sound on would I hear something too? Am I brave enough to find out? Probably not / maybe another time]
    We’re just back from a fortnight in GB – the most rain on record – perfect timing. I see on the BBC AMerica new today that the floods are going down, but even so.
    Now if you’ll excuse me I have to go and water the garden [sprinkler system is bust] oh my and it’s a balmy 78 degrees, I may even have to turn the AC on.
    Cheers

  4. 4

    mcewen, what part of GB are you from?

  5. 5
    donetta Says:

    orientaltrading.com is a must save big$$$
    I think they ship international!
    P.S. don’t et the clown do glitter the kid get it in their eye:)
    from me the clown 🙂

  6. 6

    Donetta, there’s something not quite right with your link!

  7. 7
    beccy Says:

    Hurray, we’ve had two days of sunshine, is summer finally here?

    I’m off to Wexford for a few days next week so I’m praying for some sunshine or at the least no rain.

    The street party sounds like loads of fun, I wish I lived there.

  8. 8

    Yes, things are pretty soggy in the UK at the moment.

    How did the party go?

  9. 9

    Whereabouts in Cork were you thinking of? I used to spend my school summer holidays in Millstreet (my mum is from there) with forays to places like Schull etc for camping. other years we would go to Youghal or Ardmore. Damn I haven’t been over is a few years now. I must go.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

