It’s another Delia (updated for Fun Monday)

  The Food Snob says, I want to see your favorite recipe, be it either because your grandmother wrote it, it’s the easiest thing you can slap together that everyone likes, it makes you feel healthy, it’s cheap, etc. You don’t have to make it (although you could if you want) but let us see the index card, cookbook, printed paper from the web, and why it’s a favorite in your house. If you have a lot, just pick one, I know I’ll have to!

 

  I didn’t really start cooking until Chef and myself had children. Up until eight years ago, we were hotel managers and had our meals cooked for us and the two eldest girls, who were just 2 and six months old. We lived in a small cottage on the grounds of a country house hotel in the Yorkshire Dales. It was just wonderful. Then, we decided that after making a record ‘profit’ (surplus, in their words) one year and not recieving the bonus we were entitled to, we moved on.

 We took over a themed cafe in my home town in Lancashire. This went onto three more cafe’s in the North -West and then it all turned belly-up. That’s a long story and I’m not going into it.

  So back to cooking.  By this stage, we had our own home and I just had to cook. I discovered Delia Smith and would regularly borrow my Mums recipe books . The recipe on this post is one I particularly enjoy cooking.

 I remember wanting the recipe again, but couldn’t remember the ingredients, so asked Mum to tell it me over the phone. I wrote it down cooked it, and lost it. She wrote it out and handed it to me another day. I lost it. It became a joke and I probably asked her again on two more occasions.

 The following year, Mum died of cancer. I asked my eldest sister if I could hold onto her cookery books. I cooked this again last week and always think of her when I’m making it…….

    I must confess, I got fed up cooking fish and decided to defrost some pork chops from the freezer. This is a recipe I’ve used lots of times from Delias ‘Complete Illustrated Cookery Course’ I’m taking pics along the way and will post them in the next couple of days when I sort out my Flickr account

 Chef is due home at 11pm and the dinner will be ready very soon. If he’s late the dinner will be in the dog cat budgie hamster…..

6 large pork chops, trimmed of excess fat

2oz butter

2 teaspoons fresh chopped thyme, or one level teaspoon dried thyme

12oz mushrooms

juice of one large lemon

1 1/2 tablespoons plain flour

5fl oz double cream

salt and freshly milled black pepper

Pre-heat oven to gas mark 4, 350 F (180C)

  • Place a large double sheet of cooking foil on a meat roastingtin, bearing in mind it must be large enough to wrap the chops in.
  • Now in a frying pan, brown the chops nicely on both sides in butter, and then transferthem onto the foil. Season each one with salt and freshly milled black pepper and a little thyme (I’m using dried mixed herbs)
  • Now chop the mushrooms roughly and fry them in the same pan in which the meat was browned, adding a little more butter if you think it needs it. Then pour in the lemon juice, let it bubble for a minute, then sprinkle in the flour and stir with a wooden spoon until you have a rather soggy-looking mushroom mixture. Don’t worry-it always looks awful at this stage.

  • Spoon the mixture over the pork chops, some on each, then spoon a little of the double cream over each one. Now wrap up loosely in foil, sealing it verysecurely, and bake them for 1 hour. Serve the chops with the delicious juices poured over. Since this is very rich, keep the accompanying vegetables fairly simple. A sprig or two of watercress beside each chop gives colour.

Note~ When this is cooked the cream takes on a slightly curdled appearance, this doesn’t in any way spoil the delicious flavour.

20 Comments »

  1. 1

    They’re in the oven. The smell is wonderful…

  2. 2

    That sounds delish!

  3. 3
    earthpal Says:

    This blog makes me hungry.

    Where’s my dinner invitation?

  4. 4
    mothemum Says:

    I’ve made this, and it’s scrummy!!!!

  5. 5
    mjd Says:

    Your step-by-step photos and detailed instructions are very useful. I can almost smell those delicious looking pork chops.

  6. 6
    Debbie Says:

    This looks so very yummy!!

  7. 7
    Debbie Says:

    Thanks for looking at my recipes. 🙂 Crisco is just a name brand. It is vegetable shortening. 🙂

  8. 8
    Lisa Says:

    Wow, they all look great! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who writes in their cookbooks! I must check out this Delia I’ve been hearing about.
    Thanks for posting!

  9. 9
    Susan Says:

    Your entire blog is just one big recipe. That’s so great! And I really love how you give photos of each step.

  10. 10
    Nicole Says:

    What a touching story… these pork chops look delish.

  11. The play-by-play of pictures is great. Not sure I could manage this, as you cook, and I pretend, but if I’m ever in your neck of the woods, I’d love to try it!

  12. 12

    Oh I love your header! And those are awesome photos with the recipe too. 🙂 Yummy!

  13. 13
    min Says:

    These look great…but do we have to cook them naked?

  14. 14
    Dawn Says:

    That looks great. I don’t eat pork, but I could use the topping on chicken. The fish and chips look great, I don’t think I will tackle it, as we are not close to a fish source. I like your story about you losing the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  15. 15
    Kaytabug Says:

    yum yummy!! I just ate my supper and your photos are making me hungry even though the tank is full!! Thank you for sharing!!

  16. 16
    Pamela Says:

    just b4 I left reply – I saw I was still signing on with my Pirate name. Hope I didn’t leave Dirty Bess Vane at many o f my stops.

    This looks like something the “men” would really dig into.
    I’ll print it off for the hubby — and encourage him to grab his apron (:

  17. 17
    chrisb Says:

    Oh these look so good I’m going to have to try this recipe~my hubby is not keen on pork but he’ll have to try this 🙂

  18. 18
    Robin Says:

    MMmmm, looks wonderful! The pictures are always helpful for a dish like this, because they show us what we’re trying for.

    Your comments about losing the same recipe over and over again reminded me of something a friend did for me; she typed it out and PASTED it in a cookbook she gave me for my birthday. I’ve never lost it again–that blasted cookbook is much to large to lose, lol.

    Love what you did with your apron pic–it’s definitely “gallery” worthy ;).

  19. 19
    Christine Says:

    This recipe and photos look delicious! That’s nice that this recipe holds a special memory of your mother.

    Oh, and the apple pie with the custard and strawberry looks awesome for dessert.

    Now I’m really hungry! 🙂

  20. 20
    Julie Says:

    Yum! I can’t wait to try this recipe. Looks wonderful!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

