Wednesday

 

WfmwsmallToday is another edition of Works-For-Me Wednesday Backwards Edition, in which you ask a question of your readers instead of sharing a piece of advice.
Here’s my dilemma: I’m waking up at 5am most mornings then I toss and turn for an hour or so till I drop off again. I wake with the alarm at 7.30 feeling like I haven’t slept at all. Although by the time the children are ready for school, I perk up. The pharmacist suggested a couple of glasses of wine in the evening, but I’ve stopped drinking! I go to bed between 11pm and 11.30 most nights and read before I sleep. I have no idea why I wake up at this time almost every morning.
  Does anyone have any advice other than herbal remedies which as yet, don’t seem to help…
.
Still on the subject of sleep, here’s my entry for Witty wednesday…
.
By the time the soldier pulled into the little town, every hotel room was taken. “You’ve got to have a room somewhere”, he pleaded with a proprietor. “Well, I do have a double room with one occupant, but he is an Air Force guy” admitted the manager, and he might be glad to split the cost. But to tell you the truth, he snores so loudly that people in adjoining rooms have complained in the past. I’m not sure it’d be worth it to you.
” No problem.” the tired Army guy assured him, “I’ll take it.” The next morning the soldier came down to breakfast bright-eyed and bushy tailed. “How’d you sleep?” asked the manager. “Never better”, said the soldier. The manager was impressed. “No problem with the other guy snoring all night long?” “No, I shut him up in no time”, explained the soldier.
“How’d you manage that?” asked the proprietor.
“Well, he was already in bed, snoring away, when I walked into the room, so I gave him a kiss on the cheek” explained the soldier. “Then, I whispered in his ear ‘Good night beautiful’, and he sat up all night watching me.”

9 Comments »

  1. 1

    Perhaps your broken sleep is a symptom of stress.

  2. 2
    beccy Says:

    I assume you’re staying away from caffine and cheese and maybe dinking a milky drink before bed time? Or are they old wives tales!

    Sorry I can’t be much help, same thing happens to my hubby and he says it’s even worse listening to me sound asleep while he’s tossing and turning.

  3. 3
    chrisb Says:

    I have a sleep pattern very similar to yours so no advice really. I do drink a cup of camomile tea before I go to bed as it’s supposed to be relaxing !!

    Great joke, it wasn’t till I read the punch line that I remembered I’d heard it before!!

  4. 4
    earthpal Says:

    Lot’s of women I know have the same sleeping pattern as you. Maybe it’s a hormone thing.

  5. 5
    giz Says:

    Yours is not an uncommon problem – I’ve struggled with this for a long time and there can be many different reasons. Some questions – have you ever been tested for sleep apnea? Do you eat before bedtime? Are you at a menopausal stage in life? These are just a few potentials. The final analysis is that once your body clock realizes you’re waking up at a certain time, it likes to just keep doing it – becomes habit and you’ll need to stop the habit. How I did that was by a short term mild sleeping aid that helped me get through the night and break the habit.
    Hope it helps. It’s lousy to be groggy and cranky.

  6. It is total momsomnia. A hormone thing. The 4am wakeups kicked in with my first pregnancy and never left.

    I have finally (after years) just resigned myself to the fact that if I do not take something, I can’t stay asleep. So, I am a pill popper.

    Every single night I take something. Either a benadryl, half a unisom, or Tylenol PM. I try and switch it around.

    There are some herbal sleep remedies, Alluna Sleep is one my OB recommended, but they never did work for me.

    You might try half a benadryl and see what happens. Sometimes I will still wake up at 4am, but if I do I fall right back to sleep.

  7. Oh, I didn’t realize you were in Ireland, so the brand names will be different. Unisom is doxylamine succinate. That is the one I have used because it is safe during pregnancy – it is also a morning sickness drug in fact. I am not sure of the active sleeping agent in the others.

  8. 8

    The only time I wake up at 3-5am is when I have had a drink. I don’t drink during the week and as a result I have better sleep. I sleep best when I am physically tired but also at a good level of fitness, which is better for all round relaxation and stress relief. I find not drinking and cutting right down on caffene gives me more energy during the day, I’m more likely to do something active and as a consequence sleep better…. but, everyone’s different aren’t they.

  9. 9
    Lisa Says:

    Do you have black out blinds? Does it get light in your room too early?

    I’d have to agree with many of the other gals – I think it’s a hormone thing…a total mom thing!

    I guess you could always get up at 5am…and go to bed at 9:30pm or 10pm instead…..


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

