Menu Planner Monday

I’m off to England on Friday morning for my brothers 50th. So this week is a short one, but an adventurous one, too. I’m making four things I’ve never attempted before.

 

And next week I can’t wait to make these, Nic’s Chicken Mug Pies

*  *  *

I’ve signed up for another Foodie Event (I’m a sucker for competition!) Take a look at ‘No Croutons Required’ over at Lisa’s Kitchen. It’s a joint effort here with Holler at Tinned Tomatoes. She’s a Jouster, too (I voted for her when she made this) Which brings me onto my entry for this months Royal Joust over at Jenns blog The Leftover Queen. I entered previously but didn’t get anywhere! It would be great to win and pick the three ingredients for the March Joust.

 The only way for you to vote for me though, would be to register in the forum. If you wish to do this go here then here to vote. Why not join in the next Joust?
*  *  *
Lamb Cutlets on a Spiced Vegetable Broth

12 lean lamb cutlets
125g soaked soup mix (red split lentils, green split lentils, pearl barley and marrowfat peas)
1 white onion
2 sticks celery
2 med potatoes
1 eggplant (aubergine)
2 carrots1 red pepper
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cumin
2 cloves garlic
salt
freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 180o
Cook the cutlets for 15 minutes

Meanwhile…

Dice the vegetables small
Fry onion till soft and add the spices
Add the vegetables and sweat for 5 minutes
Add  soup mix and stock, bring to the boil
Simmer for 20 minutes
Season to taste

Plate up and arrange 3 cutlets on top of each dish
I added a sprig of fresh coriander for extra colour

9 Comments »

  1. Who are you trying to kid? That’s barley broth from the north west like your mother used to make!!

    😆 I’m a Lancashire Lass tha knows!

  2. 2
    Babybull40 Says:

    Hello there stranger… Hope you have a great time with your family.. Love the menu plan.. we recently had stuffed french toast with egg, cheese,ham and it was awesome.. so I made some the other day and I also tried it with fresh fruit.. strawberries and raspberries with powdered sugar and little bit of syrup.. yummylicious…

  3. 3
    chrisb Says:

    I’m really flattered that you are going to try my pasta dish.
    I think I might give the lamb and veg broth a try.

  4. 4
    earthpal Says:

    Take out those awful cutlets and it would look yummy.

    See you soon dearie.
    xx

  5. 5
    Nicole Says:

    Great menu this week. Have a lovely time with your family. :):)

  6. This is beautiful! I love the way you presented it! Such lovely form!

  7. 7
    Lisa Says:

    Looking forward to your entry!

  8. 8
    mothemum Says:

    Last night i found the last of some plain flour, just enough to make double portions of pancake mixture.After sieving the flour adding the eggs, and milk, i seived the mixture down the sink!!!! I forgot to put the jug underneath!
    So i had to remake the lot with Self Raising flour!

  9. […] as suggested by  The Mother of this Lot at Mothers Pride. I’m entering it into the ‘No Croutons Required’ hosted by Lisa’s Kitchen and Holler at Tinned Tomatoes… . Monday~ Minestrone […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

