Right or wrong?

Had to blog about this story after hearing the woman on Todayfm. What do you think? Personally, I wouldn’t be happy with my 10 year old walking to the shop alone, which would only take her 20 mins each way, let alone walking the streets of New York! I’d be very nervous and would probably follow her in the car and watch from a distance!  
So are we overprotective these days? I have to wonder what would be the chances of her being picked up by a madman in a van. Probably very slim. Even when my 3yr old is playing up on the green, I’m constantly peeking out of the window to make sure he’s still around and if I can’t see him from the bedroom window, I go and look for him. Of course, he’s still up there playing with the other little ones, but I still check…. We talk about spending the whole day playing out when we were little, but was it right for our parents to allow us to do that? I feel obliged to ‘be seen’ keeping an eye on my children. My neighbours are always looking out for theirs.

 
 

 

 

 

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    chrisb Says:

    Sad to say we are living in a far more dangerous world these days, so although I think having freedom, excitement and things like going to the shops is vital for children’s development, it’s actually not so easy to achieve as it was when I, or even my daughters, were growing up!

  2. 2
    Jan Says:

    I don’t think our world is worse and/or more dangerous than when we, or our parents, or even our grandparents, were youngsters. What has changed is the amount of media coverage we are aware of, from all corners of the world. I firmly believe this.
    I think all parents need to be prudent. I roamed freely, all over town, a city. When my daughters came along, I restricted them, from certain areas; areas that had become seedy, I’m sure they didn’t even realize it, until they were teenagers.

  3. 3

    I don’t care how overly protective I am. My kids are safe. That’s all that matters to me.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

